Cape Town Jazz Festival Announces First Artists

Cape Town Jazz Festival 2018The 19th Cape Town International Jazz Festival, produced by espafrika, will be held on March 23rd and 24th in this beautiful capital of the Western Cape of South Africa. The International Convention Centre will once again be the host venue and now, the first artists for 2018 have been announced, with the second half to be followed in January.

International artists to be confirmed so far are Jordan Rakei who released his five-paw reviewed album “Wallflower” earlier this year and has been playing Berlin already twice in 2017, UK soul singer Corinne Bailey Rae, pianist Vijay Iyer with his sextet, Los Angeles-based bassist, singer, producer, arranger and composer Miles Mosley (also playing twice in Berlin in 2017), Nicholas Payton with his Afro-Caribbean Mixtape, Seu Jorge playing the music of David Bowie, Trombone Shorty, and a special project called R&R=Now. Playing together in this collective are Robert Glasper, Terrace Martin, Christian Scott, Derrick Hodge, Taylor McFerrin, and Justin Tyson, a true new generation super group.

There are a lot of South African artists as well of course. Singer Nicky Schrire, singer/songwriter Amanda Black, vocalist, songwriter and producer Claire Phillips, guitarist and composer Keenan Ahrends and his quartet, bassist and composer Shane Cooper with his new band Mabuta, and legendary drummer Louis Moholo-Moholo with his new project 5 Blokes 1 Doll are among the homegrown talent.

Check here for more info:


Similar Posts