International Jazz Day Celebrates 10th Anniversary

April 30th is International Jazz Day. For the 10th edition this year, there will be an All-Star Global Concert from New York, Los Angeles, Paris, Rio de Janeiro, Tokyo, Moscow, and more cities all over the globe. The Global Concert will be hosted by Michael Douglas from the headquarters of the UN in New York and will feature performances from artists representing more than 20 countries. Artistic Director is Herbie Hancock, Music Director John Beasley. Among the artists participating: Melissa Aldana, Joe Lovano, Dee Dee Bridgewater, Kenny Garrett, Dianne Reeves, Romero Lubambo, Marcus Miller, Stefon Harris, Justo Almario, Cyrus Chestnut, Andra Day, James Genus, Ben Williams, Gerald Clayton, Antonio Sánchez, and Jonathan Butler.

Performances from their home countries are expected from Jacob Collier in London, Ivan Lins in Rio de Janeiro, Igor Butman in Moscow, John McLaughlin in Monaco, and Angélique Kidjo in Paris. The concert will be shown as a live webcast on YouTube, Facebook, the UN Web TV, and on www.jazzday.com on April 30th at 2pm in Los Angeles, 5pm in New York, and 11pm in Berlin.

http://www.jazzday.com

Share:  Facebooktwitterlinkedin
Follow: Facebooktwitterlinkedininstagram

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *