New Album by Rickie Lee Jones

Four years after her last album “Kicks”, singer Rickie Lee Jones will release “Pieces Of Treasure”, an album of ten standards, produced by Russ Titelman, who was the producer of her first two albums in 1979 and 1981. Accompanying her on the new album, which will be released on April 28th, are Russell Malone on guitar, Rob Mounsey on piano, David Wong on bass, and Mark McLean on drums, with special guest Mike Mainieri on vibes.

Rickie Lee Jones "Pieces Of Treasure"

Russ Titelman says about working with Rickie on the new one: “Her voice has always sounded a bit younger than it ought to…but on this recording the aging voice sounds even better to me than the youthful one. There’s a resonance and warmth in her lower register that wasn’t there before.” Rickie plays New York’s Birdland April 6th to 8th. Vinyl will be available too.

Check out the first single “Just In Time” below. A full review will follow.

Similar Posts