New Ben Wendel Album in April

Canadian-American saxophonist and composer Ben Wendel releases “All One” on April 21st on the UK-based Edition Records label. The album features a guest musician on each track, like José James, Elena Pinderhughes, Tigran Hamasyan, Bill Frisell, Cécile McLorin Salvant, and Terence Blanchard. Of the six tunes on the album, three are written by Ben, one by Bill Frisell, and two pieces are from the Great American Songbook: “I Loves You Porgy” with Cécile, and “Tenderly” with José.

It’s Ben’s first album after his Edition debut “High Heart” in 2020 which featured great playing by Gerald Clayton, Joe Sanders, Nate Wood, Shai Maestro, and Michael Mayo. Ben can be heard on albums by an eclectic mix of artists like Kneebody, Moonchild, Taylor Eigsti, Gerald Clayton, or Joel Harrison.

The multilayered album “All One” spreads the message of “togetherness, friendship and unity”.
A first piece from the album, “Speak Joy” featuring Elena Pinderhughes, is already available and the album will be out on vinyl too! Sounding good. A full review is coming soon.

Similar Posts