Thelonious Monk Competition Winners Playing Concerts in New York

Thelonious Monk Competition WinnersThrough its Competition and wide range of year-round programs, the Thelonious Monk Institute of Jazz is committed to identifying and training the world’s leading young jazz musicians who will preserve the traditions of jazz while expanding the music in new directions.

That’s what is said on the Thelonious Monk Institute Organisation website and this past year saw the trumpet as the focus instrument. The judges consisting of Randy Brecker, Ambrose Akinmusire (himself a winner back in 2007), Roy Hargrove, Quincy Jones, Arturo Sandoval, and Jimmy Owens found the three best finalists in early November when they performed in an all-star gala performance in Los Angeles.

Past winners over the years include Gretchen Parlato, Ben Williams, Jon Irabagon, Lage Lund, Gerald Clayton, Melissa Aldana, Kris Bowers, or Marcus Roberts (in the first competition in 1987).

Starting at the end of this month, all three winners from the 2014 competition will play at the BMCC Tribeca Performing Arts Center in New York. First-place winner Marquis Hill will start on January 31st, first runner-up Billy Buss will play next on February 14th and second runner-up, Adam O’Farrill, son of pianist Arturo O’Farrill and grandson of composer Chico O’Farrill, continues on February 28th.

Similar Posts