New Music From Smokey, Cécile, Dominic, and EBTG

We’ve already mentioned new music coming up from Everything But The Girl, Cécile McLorin Salvant, and Smokey Robinson. All three have just released new singles from their upcoming albums. Smokey’s second single after “If We Don’t Have Each Other” is called “How You Make Me Feel”. It’s a forceful, yet still subtle soul burner, typically Smokey. His new album “Gasms” will drop April 28th.

Cécile McLorin Salvant‘s second single (after “D’Un Feu Secret”) from her upcoming album “Mélusine” is the title track. She is accompanied by guitarist Daniel Swenberg on this particular piece, which is the only one on the album with English lyrics. And sort of the centerpiece of the story which Cécile is telling on her album. The record will come out on March 23rd, with the vinyl version to be released on May 19th. You will get a full review on these pages on the day of its release next week. It’s a highly entertaining and pretty fascinating set.

Guitarist Dominic Miller has wowed us with his last two albums on ECM: “Silent Light” (2017) and “Absinthe” (2019). He follows up with “Vagabond”, to be released on April 21st. On vinyl too! On the album, he plays with Jacob Karlzon (p, keys), Nicolas Fiszman again on bass, and Ziv Ravitz on drums. We’ve already heard the album and it’s another winner. Look out for the full review here towards the release date. The opening track from the album, “All Change”, is now available on all streaming formats.

And then there is the third single off Everything But The Girl’s new “Fuse” album (April 21st, also on vinyl). Called “Run A Red Light”, it’s a wonderful, melancholic story with haunting and sparse arrangement. Tracey’s voice has gone darker, bluer, deeper, and yet sounds so familiar on this truly bittersweet track which is also accompanied by a video (the second video from the album) which you can find below. It’s our favorite piece so far from the record. Look out for a full review next month.

Similar Posts